How To Add and Delete Users on a CentOS 7 VPS VULTR

View vultr lastest coupon promotion code - lastest giftcode

Adding Users

If you are signed in as the root user, you can create a new user at any time by typing:

If you are signed in as a non-root user who has been given sudo privileges, as demonstrated in the next section of this tutorial, you can add a new user by typing:

Next, you’ll need to give your user a password so that they can log in. To do so, use the passwd command:

Note: Remember to add sudo ahead of the command if you are signed in as a non-root user with sudo privileges.

You will be prompted to type in the password twice to confirm it. Now your new user is set up and ready for use! You can now log in as that user, using the password that you set up.

Granting Sudo Privileges to a User

If your new user should have the ability to execute commands with root (administrative) privileges, you will need to give the new user access to sudo.

We can do this by adding the user to the wheel group (which gives sudo access to all of its members by default) through the gpasswd command. This is the safest and easiest way to manage sudo user rights.

If you are currently signed in as the root user, type:

If you are signed in using a non-root user with sudo privileges, type this instead:

Now your new user is able to execute commands with administrative privileges. To do so, simply type sudo ahead of the command that you want to execute as an administrator:

You will be prompted to enter the password of the regular user account that you are signed in as. Once the correct password has been submitted, the command you entered will be executed with root privileges.

Managing Users with Sudo Privileges

While you can add and remove users from a group (such as wheel) with gpasswd, the command doesn’t have a way to show which users are members of a group. In order to see which users are part of the wheel group (and thus have sudo privileges by default), you can use the lid function. lid is normally used to show which groups a user belongs to, but with the -g flag, you can reverse it and show which users belong in a group:

The output will show you the usernames and UIDs that are associated with the group. This is a good way of confirming that your previous commands were successful, and that the user has the privileges that they need.

Deleting Users

If you have a user account that you no longer need, it’s best to delete the old account. You have a couple of methods to do so, though the choice of which method to use depends on your own situation.

If you want to delete the user without deleting any of their files, type this command as root:

If you want to delete the user’s home directory along with the user account itself, type this command as root:

Note: Remember to add sudo ahead of the command if you are signed in as a non-root user with sudo privileges.

With either command, the user will automatically be removed from any groups that they were added to, including the wheel group if they were given sudo privileges. If you later add another user with the same name, they will have to be added to the wheel group again to gain sudo access.

Source: VULTR